The Olympic Peninsula Humane Society needs your help! (Update)

kittensThank you to everyone who has sent e-mails, made phone calls and attended the last Port Angeles City Council meeting to voice your support for the Olympic Peninsula Humane Society. We’ve made some progress but your help is still needed.

The City Council will vote on the 2016 budget at their December 1st meeting at 6 p.m. at City Hall. We need our supporters to attend the meeting and speak up!

The mayor has directed city staff to explore options to fully restore the OPHS contract as it is currently written. As you may know, we learned of the city’s intention to reduce and then eliminate funding for OPHS entirely in a newspaper article.

We have had fee for service contracts with the City of PA, City of Sequim and Clallam County for many years. These contracts help us provide care for the animals that are surrendered or come to the shelter as strays.

OPHS negotiated a three-year contract with the City last year. The contract should run through 2017, however, the City has determined that animal welfare is “one of the lower priorities of the City” and will not honor the contract as written.

Should we lose our funding, we will be forced to stop taking animals from the city of Port Angeles since we cannot afford to absorb the cost. This is not a good option and would certainly result in more abandoned animals.

Here are some things you can do to help:

Attend the next City Council meeting on Tuesday, December 1st at 6 p.m.

If you’re comfortable doing it, speak up for the animals at the meeting.

Even if you’ve already e-mailed council members, it’s not a bad idea to send them another note, reminding them of their duty to the animals and the citizens of Port Angeles.

Dan DiGuilio – ddiguilio@cityofpa.us
Patrick Downie – pdownie@cityofpa.us
Sissi Bruch – sbruch@cityofpa.us
Brad Collins – bcollins@cityofpa.us
Dan Gase – dgase@cityofpa.us
Cherie Kidd – ckidd@cityofpa.us
Lee Whetham – lwhetham@cityofpa.us

Write a letter to the editor of the Peninsula Daily News. Include your name, street address and – for verification purposes – day and evening telephone numbers.
E-mail to letters@peninsuladailynews.com, fax to 360-417-3521 or mail to:
Letters to the Editor
Peninsula Daily News
P.O. Box 1330
Port Angeles WA 98362.

cat

Thank you for your help,

Mary Beth Wegener
Executive Director
Olympic Peninsula Humane Society
2105 W. Hwy. 101
Port Angeles, WA 98363
(360) 457-8206
(360) 477-6206 (cell)
marybeth@ophumanesociety.org

P.S. If you are not on our mailing list, please Click Here to Subscribe.  Thank you.