The Olympic Peninsula Humane Society needs your help!

puppy - crateThe City of Port Angeles has informed OPHS that funding for the services OPHS provides city residents will be reduced beginning in its 2016 budget and eliminated entirely beginning in 2019. We have had fee for service contracts with the City of PA, City of Sequim and Clallam County for many years. These contracts help us provide care for the animals that are surrendered or come to the shelter as strays.

OPHS negotiated a three-year contract with the City last year. The contract should run through 2017, however, the City has determined that animal welfare is “one of the lower priorities of the City” and will not honor the contract as written.

Should we lose our funding, we will be forced to make some difficult decisions since we cannot afford to subsidize the animals that come in from Port Angeles. This could include charging residents to bring in animals or refusing all animals from the city limits. Neither of these are good options and would certainly result in more abandoned animals.

The next City Council meeting is Tuesday, November 17th at 6 p.m. Please plan to attend and speak up for the animals. You can also let the City Council members know how important this funding is by e-mailing them at:

Dan DiGuilio – ddiguilio@cityofpa.us
Patrick Downie – pdownie@cityofpa.us
Sissi Bruch – sbruch@cityofpa.us
Brad Collins – bcollins@cityofpa.us
Dan Gase – dgase@cityofpa.us
Cherie Kidd – ckidd@cityofpa.us
Lee Whetham – lwhetham@cityofpa.us

You can also help by writing a letter to the editor of the Peninsula Daily News.
Include your name, street address and – for verification purposes – day and evening telephone numbers.

E-mail to letters@peninsuladailynews.com, fax to 360-417-3521 or mail to:
Letters to the Editor
Peninsula Daily News
P.O. Box 1330
Port Angeles WA 98362.

Thanks for your help

Mary Beth Wegener
Executive Director
Olympic Peninsula Humane Society
2105 W. Hwy. 101
Port Angeles, WA 98363
(360) 457-8206
(360) 477-6206 (cell)
marybeth@ophumanesociety.org